So, today I learned how to use Screencast-o-Matic!  This is one of the tools that I was most excited to learn to use during this technology Jump Start.  There are so many times that I wish I could just show someone my screen, thinking it would be so much more efficient than trying to describe what they should see or what they should look for when they are back at a computer.

I offer several online classes as well as face-to-face professional development.  Much of the real work of PD happens when a teacher is back in his or her classroom trying to remember the specifics.  I love the idea of offering short videos like this one to support their learning and practice.

This tutorial is a bit longer than recommended and I think I may edit it down a little more still.  I wanted to develop something that I can use with teachers this fall, and I thought of walking them through the NGSS @ NSTA website and showing them how to find classroom resources that are aligned with the NGSS.  I scripted this a bit and tried it a couple different times and I can see that (as with most things) screen casts will get better with time.  I was pretty excited by the first attempt though!

 

